December 6, 2022

Louis I Vuitton

Savvy Car Technicians

Scott Dixon Breaks The Pole Speed Record For The Indy 500


Image for article titled Scott Dixon Breaks The Pole Speed Record For The Indianapolis 500

Picture: Penske Entertainment / Chris Owens

Next Sunday, the earth will know who this year’s Indianapolis 500 Winner is. This Sunday, we obtain out who will direct the area of 33 to the inexperienced flag in the 106th edition of the 500-mile vintage.

The twelve quickest motorists from Saturday’s functioning state-of-the-art into Sunday’s two-spherical shootout for pole situation. Chip Ganassi Racing sophisticated all 5 of its entries to Sunday, Álex Palou, Tony Kanaan, Jimmie Johnson, Marcus Ericsson and Scott Dixon. The greatest opposition the Chevrolet-powered groups could muster towards Ganassi-Honda supremacy ended up the McLarens of Pato O’Ward and Felix Rosenqvist and the Ed Carpenter Racing cars of Rinus VeeKay and group operator Ed Carpenter.

Chip Ganassi Racing was capable to advance 4 of its 5 cars into the pole-deciding Quick Six session. The two ECR entries would sign up for the Honda-powered 4. Jimmie Johnson was the only Ganassi driver not to make the slash. The seven-time NASCAR Cup Sequence Winner has at the start off of his operate. Johnson just about strike the wall as his car’s rear slid on the Turn 1 exit of the four-lap run’s to start with lap. Miraculously, he saved the motor vehicle as his correct-rear tire arrived within just inches of putting that wall and went on to comprehensive the four laps.

The evergreen excellence of Scott Dixon was on complete show on Sunday as he certified for his 20th Indianapolis 500. Dixon was basically a reduce over anyone else. His Leading Twelve regular speed of 233.510 was quickly enough to win pole. In the Speedy 6 round, Dixon created historical past. He won pole with an common velocity of 234.046 mph over his four-lap run, a new pole record and the next-quickest qualifying operate of all time.

This consequence is the fifth Indy 500 pole of Scott Dixon’s profession, placing him second all-time behind Rick Mears’ six pole positions.

Qualifying Effects – Major 12

  1. Scott Dixon (234.046 mph)
  2. Álex Palou (233.499 mph)
  3. Rinus VeeKay (233.385 mph)
  4. Ed Carpenter (233.080 mph)
  5. Marcus Ericsson (232.764 mph)
  6. Tony Kanaan (232.372 mph)
  7. Pato O’Ward (232.705 mph)
  8. Felix Rosenqvist (232.182 mph)
  9. Romain Grosjean (231.999 mph)
  10. Takuma Sato (231.670 mph)
  11. Will Ability (231.534 mph)
  12. Jimmie Johnson (231.264 mph)


Source link